RX7 vs RX8? Which one will you choose?

The Mazda RX-7 and RX-8 are both sports cars from Mazda, known for their rotary engine technology and distinctive designs. However, there are several key differences between these two models:


Rotary Engines:

RX-7: The RX-7 was available with various rotary engine configurations over its generations, including single and twin-turbocharged versions. It is known for its high-revving rotary engines, particularly in the later generations.
RX-8: The RX-8 featured a different rotary engine than the RX-7. It used a Renesis (Rotary Engine Genesis) rotary engine, which was a 1.3-liter twin-rotor design. While it maintained the rotary engine concept, it was distinct from the RX-7’s engine.

Body Style:

RX-7: The RX-7 typically had a two-door coupe body style throughout its production history, except for some limited-run convertible versions.
RX-8: The RX-8 featured a four-door, four-seat design with a unique “freestyle” door configuration, where the rear doors opened rearward. This made it more practical in terms of passenger access and rear-seat space compared to the RX-7.
Seating and Practicality:

RX-7: The RX-7 generally had a two-seat or 2+2 seating arrangement with limited rear-seat space, making it less practical for passengers.
RX-8: The RX-8 offered four seats and more rear-seat space, making it a more practical choice for those needing occasional rear passenger seating.
Production Period:

RX-7: The RX-7 was produced from 1978 to 2002, with various generations and updates during that time.
RX-8: The RX-8 was produced from 2003 to 2012, making it a more recent model compared to the RX-7.
Handling and Balance:

RX-7: The RX-7 was celebrated for its lightweight design and balanced rear-wheel-drive handling, making it a favorite among driving enthusiasts.
RX-8: The RX-8 also had a well-balanced chassis and handling but with a different emphasis on practicality and passenger comfort.